Texas X Riders

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 1st cruiser...lossa ?s  (Read 1024 times)

L2RR2L

• Tejano
  • pearland - south of houston
1st cruiser...lossa ?s
« on: August 05, 2006, 02:39:00 PM »

Hi my name is Brian. I am new to cruisers, fresh off a sport bike. I have to say not as bad of a shock as I was expecting. Anyways I have racked up a lot of questions just in the few weeks I have owned her.

1. I really want to lower the back end but what does it do to the ride? keeping in mind the passenger is on almost as much as me. For those of you who have done it how bad does it affect handling and the ride?

2. I like the look of the 1800 bar risers. do they swap over?

3. And a big one this is...what are the best/ cheapest performance enhancers. I hear the hypercharger is a waste. how do i get some more umph without spending a bunch.

I'll get these answered first and Im sure I will have more later. Hope to ride with some of you soon!

ex sport rider....now just an x rider

Roller

Re: 1st cruiser...lossa ?s
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2006, 04:33:45 PM »

Welcome to cruiser world, and the X world. I'm assuming you have a 1300?

1.  You can lower the rear by;(1) adjusting the shocks down,     (2) cutting the stock shocks,  or  (3) Buying some Progressives that are shorter, 11", or 10.5".  If you get some heavy duty shocks, they ride will be a little stiffer, but with 2 up, you may want it.  I don't think it really affected the handling or ride much at all.

2.  I believe the risers will swap over.  I think alot of the 1300 guys prefer the 1800 risers.  I don't know if it's for looks or comfort.

3.  Best way to get more gittyup is the 1800 ;D.  Best way to get more ponies straight up is aftermarket pipes and better air cleaner.  Maybe the hurricane or tornado, there's alot out there now that perform better than stock.

MRVTX

• Texas X Rider OverLord
  • Magnolia, TX
    • What I do...